After the Smoke

Creator: Zack Pesata
Age rating: 17 and older
"After the Smoke" at its core is a serial killer/ Detective thriller in the vein of "Manhunter" or "Seven". However, it takes a drastic turn about midway in the story. Challenging the audience (reader) to understand such themes as morality and duty.
Synopsis: Detective Morrison has started an investigation on an attempted homicide on a young girl. She escaped the would be killer but is scarred both mentally and physically. The story switches perspectives of Detective Morrison and the killer (nick named:Smoke) through their journey.

About midway through the story something very drastic happens to both men and from the 50 page point on "After the Smoke" becomes a relentless journey into the depths of morality, truth, duty, and vengeance.

This may be a scarce synopsis but for good reason. I do not want to give too much away when a major twist occurs. The "twist" is not used as a plot device to keep the audience guessing but a tool that helps the viewers (readers) undersand the characters and their motivations.

Latest Work

All Work

  • Script 4 - Zack's 4th Draft
    04/22/11
    Creative Notes:
    A revision on draft 3, end is very different.
    Everything after the end of the interrogation is different, so the last eight to ten pages are much different.
  • Script 3 - Zack's 3rd Draft
    03/21/11
    Creative Notes:
    This is a slight revision on the second draft of After the Smoke, the numbering of scenes has been fixed so just read as normal and there is a bit of an extension of Detective Morrison's daily routine after the "event".
  • Script 2 - Zack's 2nd Draft
    02/19/11
    Creative Notes:
    This is a second draft of After the Smoke. The first thing I wanted to do with this draft is to make it less of a procedural.
    Many new scenes have been added with others being cut out entirely. The last twenty pages are drastically different. So is the intervew with the Psychiatrist .
    This draft is much more "organized" and "Clear". New Scenes are seperated by (). This is much different script
  • Script 1 - Zack's Original Draft
    01/12/11
    Creative Notes:
    This is a basicaly a first draft, I tweaked a few things in first 20 pages, but that is all.