Overall Recommendation:
4.0 stars
(17)
5 Stars:
41.18%
(7)
 
4 Stars:
35.29%
(6)
 
3 Stars:
11.76%
(2)
 
2 Stars:
5.88%
(1)
 
1 Stars:
5.88%
(1)
 
Premise:
3.8 stars
(15)
 
Story structure:
4.1 stars
(15)
 
Character:
4.1 stars
(15)
 
Dialogue:
4.1 stars
(15)
 
Emotion:
3.4 stars
(15)
 
 
1-10 of 17 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

O.K.

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
2 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
February 20, 2013
The movie was hilarious at times but very predictable. The story-boarding, artwork and V.O. was excellent. The ONLY drawback about the STORY-BOARDS was that some of them could have been more suggestive about the characters' movements. In all, this is a very well structured film, but is tooooo predictable.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Similar to Sorority Boy's

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
March 19, 2012
First of all I just want to say that the overall quality of the story board and the voice actors were superb! The storyboard was timed well for the most part and the voice actors did a great job bringing life to the characters. Now moving on to the actual story, of which was really well executed. Major Kudos to the writer for establishing a raunchy romantic comedy, well at least I hope that I understood it right. The scripts timing was executed great, the three acts were well established and the characters where fitted well into the narrative. Much of the dialogue used in this script/screen test will be well received by adults from the ages of 18+. The dialogue is a crucial role in any romantic comedy and it also demonstrates that the script on it's own is funny without the gimmicks of visual jokes.
The movie was great and so much of the dialogue and events remind me of Sorority Boy's, not that the movie wasn't original, but the story has been present before in cinema. Knowing that, the reason why I gave Character a "Very Good" was because to me these characters were somewhat the same as those in Sorority Boy's even the nerds! The next lowest score I gave this movie was in the category of Emotion a "Good" because honestly I don't feel connected with the characters. They seem cliches on their own and aside from their goals of finding love and winning "maneaters/cocksmen" awards the characters seem very hollow which really didn't give me the emotional feel and that's ok because it's a comedy, I shouldn't feel anything else but the urge of laughter. Which brings me to my final point. All of these are not flaws because the movie is a comedy. I as a viewer couldn't care less of the characters because at the end of the day I go see a comedy so I can just laugh. Overall this movie is four stars on the merit that it delivers what it promises and does it well with top notch dialogue.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

EXCELLENT

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
January 15, 2012
FUNNY, INTERESTING EVERYDAY STORY. I LOVE ITALTHOUGH I'M NOT IN A MOVIE BUSINESS. LIKE IT VERY MUCH. CONGRATS
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Punchy and entertaining.

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
January 07, 2012
This story has been very well presented. The dialogue is humorous and the character development is superb. The voice acting is good and has been well synchronized with the storyboard. This is an initiative, which I would definitely recommend for further development, as it has good entertainment value.

The first part of the production was on the slow side, so if there is a way to add some action to this segment, it would greatly improve the capacity of a viewer to hold his or her interest. Secondly, although the humor element of the script is good, there is room for refinement. This would contribute to a version that would be more rounded and that would flow more smoothly.

There are characters in the story that almost everyone can identify with. Their interaction with each other, was brilliantly executed.

Full credit goes to the production team.
 
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I really like this Idea

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
January 06, 2012
I love the test movie so far, I haven't finished it, but I really want to.
i think the premise is the best part, I love the Idea of these two break-up artists mixing up together, and it is really neat to see things that i hope don't happen to much in real life, but that's what the movies are for, right?
The actors (voices) were really great. I feel that the characters are a little shallow, though what can you expect from real Break-up artists.
The story does really relate to real life in some emotional ways, like that a break-up can be hard and really is an art, but hopefully not for those reasons.
I would like to comment on how the sound design was, because I have mostly highlighted characterization in my past reviews of various things. The sound design was very nice, though some soud effects didn't go as well as they could have. In the clubs and places I think the music could have been a little more strong and also a score that ran throughout the movie a little more.
his test movie/storyboard is great, though, and i will edit my review once I have finished it.
i hope that this project will go farther than this, and maybe even farther than it was made for. i can see this movie as a big hit with college age kids and adults. Best wishes for the project and all it's contributors!
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

LMAO...

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
No rating
 
Story structure:
No rating
 
Character:
No rating
 
Dialogue:
No rating
 
Emotion:
No rating
 
December 09, 2011
Such a blast. Cute, charming, and hilarious. The only down fall... It was predictable, and well, I like to be surprised. Anyway, the story, dialogue, acting, everything was great. I gave this film 4 out of 5 stars. Will be looking for more of your movies. Thanks for sharing your talent.
 
3 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Great visuals. But the script is too crude and disrespectful of women to ever be picked up by Hollywood

Overall Recommendation:
1 stars
 
Premise:
2 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
1 stars
 
Dialogue:
1 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
November 30, 2011
I must say that I expected the story, characters and such to be worthy of consideration by Hollywood, but I was disappointed. Not even close. The story is shallow. Characters are unlikeable (esp. Jerry); and Chris is too mindless in the opening to be believable or generate any empathy. Dialogue is too often crude and unrealistic. Women are treated horribly. No depth of character or complexity except a bit with Mary, although even she talks harshly and unfeminine when she and Chris are together while Jerry's having sex with the woman in the bedroom (her mention of 'crotchless panties' would turn off any woman reader/actor). The notion of centerfolds and Cocksmen magazine are dated concepts, reminiscent of the 'Playboy' era.

Though, in my opinion, the script is a disaster (it's not a RomCom, unlike many reviewers have specified). It's a crude, youth-oriented comedy.

That said, the story board work is fantastic. Great images, color and such. I just wish it was in service of a saleable script.

I like the concept of Breakup Artist, but not as a club or other unreal format. Rather, an individual (male or female) who counsels people who want to get out of horrible relationships, while unable to get out of his/her own lousy relationship. That could be a Hollywood project, but the characterizations and dialogue would have to be substantially upgraded from what exists here.

Just giving my opinion. I didn't view Gary's other winning storyboards, but he's obviously found a good venue for his work. To go beyond Amazon, which I think he should aspire to, not just for the greater money to be made there, but for the self-satisfaction of attaining that level, would require Gary to focus more on the story than storyboard aspect, although he's terrific at that component. Not to mention making good bucks.
 
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Typical of many Rom-Coms... Meh

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
1 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
November 30, 2011
Okay, I just watched "The Break-up Artists" to see what to think about the contest. I was mainly trying to understand the mindset of the judges. I think, in this case, the entire thing is weakened by the R-rated kinds of things that don't do much more than detract from character development and story. Much of the structure (beats, blocking, shots, etc) was well done.

About four glitches in the movie, times when it would repeat a little part. Otherwise the production values, with the sound and music, was high. Nothing really moving about the music. (Used lots of Bach piano, for example, at 1:10, for high-class parties.)

It is slow to start.Took more than 15 minutes before we understood what the main line of action was. And it wasn't the line of action for the character that started the movie. It had a number of quite implausible turns, like the big one toward the end, when the main fellow and his "girl" try to get their friends back together. Far fetched. So was the whole ending. Which includes the character development. It comes out of the blue, like the circumstances just happened to bring about this wonderful change. Most critics, like newspaper critics on Rotten Tomatoes, would be quite critical of these things. So I'm not thinking much of the judges evaluation of the film.

It does address an important, current topic about today's thinking on love and men and women. Again, real critics, though, would think it simply walked on the wild side and then settled for the traditional. It's the same criticism, for example, of Cecil B. DeMille's bible epics. It did start to verge on something interesting, the needed loyalty of the men to each other and the suggestion that something like that could exist between a man and a woman. That could have, and should have, been more developed.

Overall, It is topical and clever but not profound and moving. I don't believe a studio would pick it up. The judges, I would think, should be agents who have to pitch scripts to studios. They will know if a story has a chance or not.

I think most real critics, like those on newspapers for Rotten Tomatoes, would have big concerns about this movie.
 
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

It is good but nothing new, we want to see something new and exciting story so audiance must have interst. I liked it as it great work although.

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
1 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
November 28, 2011
The story is about relationship breakup etc. so emotion dialogue should more powerful and touchy.
in dialogue more sentiments plus up and downs more important.
good part is no waisting time, just to the point.
 
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great Romantic Comedy!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
November 22, 2011
This is one of the best movies I've seen here so far. There are a few others I'm sad didn't make the finals, but I'm glad this one did!
HILARIOUS! Really good pacing, dialogue and voice acting. I found myself laughing out loud several times. The artwork is pretty good, too, which I think is a nice tough.
Great job! I can't wait to see more from this group!
 

Reviews for