Overall Recommendation:
2.7 stars
(24)
5 Stars:
8.33%
(2)
 
4 Stars:
20.83%
(5)
 
3 Stars:
20.83%
(5)
 
2 Stars:
33.33%
(8)
 
1 Stars:
16.67%
(4)
 
Premise:
3.4 stars
(22)
 
Story structure:
2.5 stars
(21)
 
Character:
2.9 stars
(21)
 
Dialogue:
2.5 stars
(21)
 
Emotion:
2.5 stars
(20)
 
 
11-20 of 24 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

No Basis in History

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
No rating
 
February 20, 2015
Is this alternate history? If so, please let me know and I'll rewrite the review, but in 170 AD Marcus Aurelius was emperor. He had no brother named Titus. His wife plotted against him when she thought he was dying. This story has no basis in fact. Female gladiator? Super females, possessing powers beyond those of mortal males - that theme has been done to death. (Agent Carter). These days, EVERY female is better than her male contemporaries.
 
1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Not another zombie movie

Overall Recommendation:
1 stars
 
Premise:
1 stars
 
Story structure:
1 stars
 
Character:
1 stars
 
Dialogue:
1 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
February 06, 2015
The whole movie just does not sound appealing at all. This is something I would expect to see as a B rated movie or possibly SyFy. If it were to come out in theaters I would not even bother to go and see it. I'm curious how it even got this far.
 
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Unprofessional and poorly written

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
1 stars
 
Character:
1 stars
 
Dialogue:
1 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
January 27, 2015
Is this truly a development slate project? As in it received $10,000 from Amazon? Every element of formatting has some kind of obvious errors, the characters have no discernible dialogue characteristics, it's far too heavy on exposition, etc.

This would never make it past the first reader at an agency or production company. If your opening two words (i.e. FADE IN:) have errors, then the sluglines, then the exposition, you know you have huge issues.
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great Idea!!!!

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
December 09, 2014
This is something new that follows the recent overflow of zombie movies and shows. Its fresh and never been done yet with the zombie movement. It could even be called "The First Zombie Invasion". The art work and storyboard that is going along with this is outstanding as well. Whenever this comes out, I will be watching. Good luck!!!
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Good ideas, poor execution

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
August 05, 2014
Aside from the many formatting and spelling issues, there is a solid story structure in place, supporting a fantastic concept that is both familiar yet unique. The most interesting aspect of the basic concept is that a lot of zombie movies involve mindless shooting, with various guns, but that's completely done away with here as the story is set during a time when a long-distance weapon meant a spear, and everything else had to be used up close and personal, like a sword or a mace or anything at hand to destroy said zombie. It raises the stakes a bit and takes a new look at an old idea, which is a great way to increase interest in a genre audiences are already accustomed to.

The issues here are in terms of character, dialogue, and plot elements which don't add to the story or even seem to have anything to do with it. The proper elements are there - bad guys cause problems. good guys try to save the day, zombies bite whatever they get their hands on - but they are buried within scenes of nothing but talk, exposition, unrelated melodrama…there's too much going on without any meaning. The script needs streamlining, a stripping-down of everything that doesn't move the story forward. Whole scenes can be summed up in one line, and the progressing action given priority.

The characters lack development. Aside from trying not to be killed, they have nothing at stake. There's very little in the way of an emotional quotient for them. Yes, gladiators want to be free, others have romantic intentions, politicians are ambitious - these ideas are presented, but don't carry enough weight. Again, if the excessiveness of scenes and sequences is cut back, these notions will begin to stand out more and can be revised to have better dramatic tension. Less is more, show don't tell.

Overall the script has a lot of good ideas and elements but the execution and presentation are lacking in professionalism and economy of writing. A good strong revision is in order, and further development could turn this into a really strong genre piece.
 
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Review of movie

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
No rating
 
Story structure:
No rating
 
Character:
No rating
 
Dialogue:
No rating
 
Emotion:
No rating
 
June 27, 2014
I've seen hundreds of films, the first thing that came to mind is that this was a ripoff of the movie with Russel Crowe "Gladiator" mixed with Frank Darabont's "The Walking Dead". If you're going to do an adaptation, make it original. There's even a guy whose name is Quintus who was Maximus' friend. Also "The Black Watch", just because you replaced Night with Black doesn't mean I can't spot Game of Thrones in this thing. This wouldn't even be a TV movie sorry to say, it needs work, the first thing that needs to be worked on is originality. Also a better title for your movie could be maybe instead Zombie vs Gladiator, it could be based off your theme. I haven't actually read the script because of the title. And YOU NEED A PLOT. The very idea sounds like a Syfy movie.
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Trailor Review

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
June 12, 2014
Hello. I am a sophomore at Commack High School in Mr. Patterson’s “Film as Literature” class. Over the past week or so, I have read the script and watched the trailer to your movie, ZvG: Zombies vs. Gladiators. This is what I have discovered.
First of all, I would like to say I am a huge fan of “Roman-based” films and therefore greatly enjoyed your trailer. I can honestly say my favorite scene in the trailer was in the beginning when Caesar tells his brother, “I took the throne; I took your woman.” I thought this was great because it introduced to the audience the interesting and difficult past the two brothers had. This scene, in my opinion, acts as the base of the conflict, and is used so that everything after it can relate somehow back to the beginning.
However, one scene I did not like was the final scene in the script, when the two characters kiss during the sunset as the screen fades to black. The reason I did not care for this is simple; I personally believe this sort of final scene is greatly overused in the movie industry and therefore has lost its effectiveness as an emotional final scene. During my research, I have also chosen some locations I feel would fit well in this movie. For example, I believe the main location should be the Roman Coliseum; even though it is mostly rubble, I feel this location would truly make the environment feel as real as possible. I also believe a good satellite location would be the Nashville Parthenon for the scenes inside Caesar’s castle.
Overall, one of the things I learned from this film is to always keep family close… because even through tough times, I will always need them. I wish you the best of luck with your film.
 
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Zombies Vs Gladiators

Overall Recommendation:
1 stars
 
Premise:
1 stars
 
Story structure:
1 stars
 
Character:
1 stars
 
Dialogue:
1 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
June 04, 2014
There's so much wrong with this screenplay it would take too long to write a breakdown, so I'm just going to post a summary.

The title of the screenplay is "Zombies vs Gladiators: The Black Watch." and yet the existence of the Black Watch is kept from the audience until the end of the movie. Why? It's not a mystery integral to the plot.

Come to think of it - there is no plot.

Even the basic premise of the movie doesn't work. People are easily infected by zombie blood and yet the gladiators can chop their way through dozens of zombies without getting infected themselves. How does that work?

The screenplay calls for three separate arena sets at three different locations. Have you any idea how expensive that would be? Why not have all the action take place at the same location? Then you would only need one.

There are far too many scenes that serve no purpose and do nothing to further the plot. Similarly, the dialogue is terrible throughout and never does anything to drive the story forward.

There are far too many characters with no obvious protaganist. You probably think that Marcus and Hector are the heroes of the story when in fact they're not. It's the "Black Haired Man." - only he doesn't even have a name. Why not? Do you imagine that the Black Watch is some sort of mystery that will intrigue the audience? If so, you don't understand what a mystery is.

The villain of the story is a ridiculous moustache twirling cliche with the dumbest plan in the history of moustache twirling villiany. He unleashes a zombie plague on the city so that he can come to the rescue and save Rome, gain popularity and get elected as a Senator. Why doesn't he just buy a seat like everyone else?

Senator Marcellus is an idiot. Why does he hide the dagger in a shoe instead of just handing it to Valeria? Why does he tell Marcus that he would forgive his wife if she had an affair? Why does he deliberately commit suicide by rushing the zombies? None of these things make any sense.

"What the hell?" is a Christian expression and has no place in a pre-Christian world.

The word "lad" is middle English and hasn't been invented yet.

The Roman Empire did not have feudal titles like Lords and Ladies.

There's only one good idea in this script and that's the idea of a Roman version of the X-Files. Pity you didn't introduce it until the last couple of pages of the script.
 
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Christopher J Knight’s review of ZOMBIES V GLADIATORS

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
October 02, 2013
PREMISE *****
How can you go wrong with a title such as ZOMBIES v GLADIATORS? I wish I thought of that!

STORY/STRUCTURE ***
From the title you would have guessed that we would have been in for an out-and-out monster story, but the script aims to be more intelligent than that. There are references to slaves and class struggle and to some extent, the zombies are only the backdrop for the villain’s political manoeuvring, etc.

CHARACTER ***
The characters are quite distinctive. Hector is the reluctant hero and Gallus and Antonius are great baddies. I loved the idea of a zombie elephant!

DIALOGUE ***
The dialogue seemed excessive at times. I would have preferred a more Shakespearean/period feel to it to add authenticity. I would have also added more ethnical phrases, as there are characters from all over the world in this story… and yet they seem to all speak in the same Romanesque manner?

EMOTION **
This is a zombie film, so no real emotion needed here other than being “scared”.

OTHER
The script was a pleasure to read, because the writer’s style is very similar to my own. Perhaps less use of adverbs, though? I would have preferred a PDF version to a RTF file. I am guessing that there is a conversion issue here, as the script ran to 147 pages and there were double & triple line spaces for no reason and scene headings were left at the bottom of pages… and scene headings were often left without any time signature, etc. A general tidy up is required.

As THE MAN WITH BLACK HAIR has a lot to say I would definitely give him a name in the character cues. This also applies to some other characters.
 
0 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

ok

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
1 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
January 17, 2013
 
0 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

I love this story, I think it would make an excellent movie

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
October 21, 2012
Its a good story and with some improvements it could be a great story and fantastic film. Some of the characters names need to be changed to suit the time period of Ancient Rome, and some of the details could be changed but other than those two issues its good.
 
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Heavy on political intrigue and dialogue, light on action

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
April 19, 2012
First of all, I gotta be honest; I didn't read the entire script. And frankly, I didn't need to. I got a good 30 to 40 pages in, and that alone was enough to formulate some thoughts.

We can ALL see the GREAT potential this concept has: 300 meets 28 DAYS LATER/DAWN OF THE DEAD/take your pick of recent fun zombie movies. There's a tremendous central question at the heart of this story: how would the Romans have dealt with a zombie outbreak? Sword and sandal epics mixed with undead apocalypse. Brilliant. I wish I had thought of it myself.

Now...you've got to take into account the audience for this movie. Fanboys who want to see swords and spears hacking at zombie flesh. THAT is the draw for this movie, so the script has GOT to deliver the goods in this regard. Let there be NO delays in the drawing of blood.

300 doesn't waste any time getting to the violence. Nor does Zack Snyder's previous offering, the remake of DAWN OF THE DEAD. 5 minutes in, we've got corpses, we've got bloodshed, we've got all kinds of hell breaking loose in both films pretty much.

How does THIS script compare? Well, within the first 5 pages, we've got a catalyst/inciting incident in the form of a Celtic priestess who "infects" a Roman centurion, Mundus, with the zombie plague. Not the most exciting scene, but it gets the job done. Check.

10 pages in, Mundus arrives at port, full zombie mode. Check.

In between those two scenes, we meet our protagonists, Hector and Marcus, and most of the major characters. Check. These are all things that SHOULD happen in the first 10-15 pages. But...

What's missing here?

Tension. The overarching sense that something tumultuous is going to happen. Yes, there's some blood spilled by Hector in a scene of character introduction that clarifies just how tough he is...but it ain't ZOMBIE blood.

What happens in the next 20 to 30 pages? I can give you a hint; it doesn't feature anything in the way of the zombie plague worsening, zombies chowing down on humans, or humans slaughtering zombies. Instead, we get a whole lot of political intrigue...and a lot of that involves TALK. Not action...talk.

Maybe all of this political intrigue is going to pay off later on in the script. I wouldn't be surprised if it does. But it doesn't matter, because beyond page 10, the writer has already lost me. In fact, the writer didn't really hook me from the start. ADEQUATE does not equal COMPELLING when it comes to plot.

Talk is the death of many scripts..and there's entirely too much of it going on in this one. The more characters talk, the less they do, physically. I couldn't care less about all the hype surrounding the upcoming battle between Hector and Marcus, or Gallus' scheming ways. I want to see the poop hit the fan, and I want it in the first 5 minutes, or shortly thereafter.

Here's one quick idea off the top of my head: instead of following up Mundus' departure from Hibernia with Hector's scene of introduction, how about we stick with Mundus' ship? Night has fallen. The crew is mostly asleep, except for Mundus' manservant. He goes to check on his master. The manservant opens the door to Mundus' quarters, finds everything in disarray...as though some wild animal had been turned loose inside the quarters. Suddenly, Mundus emerges from the shadows, fully zombified. He chows down on his manservant. Next, Optio, Mundus' second in command, awakens to the sounds of melee. He emerges from his quarters and finds ALL HELL has broken loose onboard. Mundus has bitten his manservant, who in turn has bitten other Roman soldiers...it's a bloody free-for-all. It doesn't take but a second or two for a free zombie to spot his next meal...Optio. Optio, being the well-trained soldier that he is, manages to repel or even kill his first attacker. He might even manage to hack and stab his way onto the main deck, where he discovers that the zombies quickly outnumber the survivors. From there, he could decide to do any number of things: 1)find a way to contain the zombies somehow 2)jump off ship 3)succumb to the zombie plague.

Whether you take the above suggested scene seriously or not, you've got to admit that it's a lot more exciting than listening to a bunch of Romans TALKING about the things they're going to do instead of actually DOING them.

Don't hold back on unleashing the zombie plague; it should be largely uncontrollable from the get-go. We want to see it spread exponentially. We want to see some stupid, unprepared victims succumb quickly before they've had a chance to figure out what's going on, while others--the heroes of our story, the kind of men with lightning quick reflexes whose instincts are to ACT FIRST and THINK LATER--fend off the plague, regroup, and decide on their next course of action.

Let's get to the body count, pronto.
 
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

very entertaining

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
October 17, 2011
A goddess avenges the city of Hibernia by sending a messenger with a curse to Rome: Zombies! A greedy official seizes the messenger and its curse to advance his own political schemes. Two gladiators, Hector and Marcus, become unlikely allies and heroes to save Rome from the zombies.
In looking at the good and bad in this script, I’ll use this analogy: if a woman’s pretty but a little fat all she’s got to do is lose a little weight; if a woman’s tore up looking she can lose all the weight she wants and it won’t make any difference. This is how I feel about this script. I read it with the goal of tearing it up. Its technical flaws are numerous. But, honestly, I can’t say anything bad about this story. To assist the writer, I’ve made a list of recommendations:

• Insert page numbers
• Trim it to around 105 pages
• Proofread for grammar errors and typos
• Cut down adjectives
• Stay in present tense
• The first battle scene is pretty cool but the crowd cheering for 3 gladiators against a single gladiator doesn’t feel right. It’s human nature to sympathize with the underdog, not the bully.
• When you say, “the man has disgusting hygiene…” you should reflect this fact by someone reacting to it instead of describing it yourself

This is a very good script with likable and believable characters. I liked the chemistry and humor between the characters especially Hector and Marcus whom I found very funny at times. The action sequences are simple, brutal, and well described. The zombie descriptions are very very nasty. Like I said earlier, I didn’t want to like this script but it (at least this version) won me over despite the issues I listed. The quality is in the story. This review is for J.H. Levy’s version of this project.
 
1 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
No rating
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
No rating
 
October 16, 2011
 

Reviews for