Overall Recommendation:
4.3 stars
(12)
5 Stars:
66.67%
(8)
 
4 Stars:
16.67%
(2)
 
3 Stars:
8.33%
(1)
 
2 Stars:
0%
(0)
 
1 Stars:
8.33%
(1)
 
Premise:
4.5 stars
(12)
 
Story structure:
4.3 stars
(12)
 
Character:
4.1 stars
(12)
 
Dialogue:
4.0 stars
(12)
 
Emotion:
3.8 stars
(12)
 
 
1-10 of 12 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Terrific Movie

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
March 21, 2012
This is a lot of fun. Thank you.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

This is so cool!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
January 21, 2012
 
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Congratulations!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
January 11, 2012
The style of your execution, the music and sound -- everything -- gives a very clear vision of what this movie would be: a blockbuster action franchise. Well done throughout and wonderfully detailed. I loved the score. Loved the theme song over the credits. The actors did a good job. And the pacing, especially in the animated and action sequences, was wonderful. By far the best of all the movies I've watched on this site. Best of luck to you and congratulations.
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Pretty Good

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 

Tom

January 07, 2012
I thought this was a good film in all aspects. Animation and camera movement was very good, and above that of other films I have watched on AS. The rest of the film, story, dialogue, characters, etc. was good but I do think it could be better. Some of the lines were delivered without emotion when it would have been more effective with proper voice inflection (work with actors). Overall, I think it would be greatly improved by polishing what is there. Make it all a little "smarter" and sharper. Try and create action that is not run-of-the-mill genre sequences. It's OK to be genre, but add a little twist to the usual here and there. And just review the dialogue and see where it can be sharpened and smarter....it was a little too generic. Now I find myself writing a little too critically....it was good, but can be better. Just polish!!
 
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

one for the books

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
January 04, 2012
This movie had a lot of odd parts which i will not deem as good nor bad. I found the color change extremely annoying and distracting, though just black and white would just be boring. you could tell when something was coming, with the bright white objects, but all but the animation was way above average. I think the amount of history the movie got into could be difficult, and the director and crew dealt with that very well, and i could see a few places where it folded back on it's self.
But i can't be negative the whole time, so I'll highlight some of the points I liked most.
the story started like a sports film, which was very interesting, and I loved how something new got added to the story almost every scene. the characters were a little vague, but only when they were introduced. otherwise the characters had a lot of actual history to them, so much I felt that I was almost getting to know them as the movie went along.
Technical aspects were all in order, I noticed how the score didn't pop out as many directors have it, which complemented the actors. animation could have been better, but it is a test movie, so great! I would love to see this in theaters. It's definitely not something I would show to kids because of violence, (it seemed like they were on a full feature film killing streak) but mostly because kids don't know the history parts of it.
 
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Turn this Movie Into Real Gold

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
January 03, 2012
The movie started off a little James Bondish, but that aspect of it only served to capture my attention. I thought the pace was pretty fast during the entire movie. At some points I wanted it to slow down a bit.
The first romantic scene was well-placed, however, the characters appeared to experience lust, not the beginning of love. They were "in love" by the second romantic scene and I felt they had reached the point where they would risk their life for each other, mainly because of their personalities, not because they were in love. I felt they had every reason to trust each other as comrades, but not much reason to fall in love. The falling in love was too formulaic.
The police officer arriving on the scene at Gold diggers had too much information to have remained at the scene. I wondered how he could have gotten prints from the gun when there was no indication that he had left the scene.
The professor's dialogue when she met who she thought was the Fuhrer was unnecessary. We had already heard it and the fake Fuhrer of course knew it. It didn't seem to be a stall tactic. I asked myself why she was saying all that. I thought it would lead to something, but I didn't see where it did.
The story was tight, well-researched. Overall, I thought the movie was very well done.
 
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

great and amusing

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
December 30, 2011
 
1 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Sell books and leave film to others.

Overall Recommendation:
1 stars
 
Premise:
1 stars
 
Story structure:
1 stars
 
Character:
1 stars
 
Dialogue:
1 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
December 30, 2011
This is what kids are taught computers for? What a waste of bandwidth and a reflection of your users'
taste dribbling down the corporate gullet. Graffiti For Dummies. Stick to selling books and all the crap made outside the USA.
 
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Completely raises the bar on test movies.

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
December 21, 2011
Overall, this test film rocks. Incredibly hard to use crude animation and voiceover to tell a complex story but this one hits it out of the park and makes it incredibly easy to imagine how thrilling a ride Alchemist's Agenda will be.
 
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

A polished script + a pro writer/director + a bunch of talented folks working hard = the best AS test movie yet.

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
December 19, 2011
Wow. This is the first one I've seen that justifies AS's idea that test movies can convey what the finished product might be like. Congratulations. Looks like a sure winner to me.

Plus, I hadn't read a draft since the earliest version. The rewrite is spectacular and needs only a bit of emotional saucing to bring that aspect up to match the five-star premise and story structure.

This project isn't looking for development -- it's already begun. In earnest. The only question left is whose name(s) will accompany Marty's on the wide-release, big budget version.
 

Reviews for