Overall Recommendation:
3.6 stars
(200)
5 Stars:
19.5%
(39)
 
4 Stars:
42.5%
(85)
 
3 Stars:
25.0%
(50)
 
2 Stars:
9.0%
(18)
 
1 Stars:
4.0%
(8)
 
Premise:
3.9 stars
(197)
 
Story structure:
3.4 stars
(198)
 
Character:
3.1 stars
(197)
 
Dialogue:
2.8 stars
(197)
 
Emotion:
3.0 stars
(196)
 
 
1-10 of 200 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Sky pirates

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
September 23, 2014
I Think is ok. Maybe more storytell. At the end needs more mistery. The action is dinamic. That i like
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Sky Pirates

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
1 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
August 15, 2014
I was interested in this story, until you had to mention that the only black man in this adventure isn't a pilot but he's a cook. So I stopped watching immediately. I'm tired of Hollywood twisting facts to fit some fictitious story line.

Especially since historical fact told me that the "Red Tails" squad of Tuskegee Airmen, a group of African-American pilots never lost one pilot on accompanied missions. I don't like to sound racist, but film makers who refuse to pay close attention to history annoy me. Concepts like this mislead another generation into believing that the white man does everything.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Great Adventure

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
March 20, 2013
Pirates is a well thought out action adventure story. The characters are good and consistant throughout the story. I would enjoy seeing this story in a full movie with life actors.
 
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Oh my. What a disappointment.

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
April 04, 2012
I really thought I'd like this movie based on the premise. Unfortunately, I came away fairly disappointed. I did watch the whole thing through, but lost interest about halfway in. I think it has a lot of potential, but will really need a whole lot of work to bring it up to snuff.

Premise:
It seemed like a promising start. Nazis, zeppelins, Africa. Adventure and mystery potential. Unfortunately, it's all been done before in some form or another. This story rips off both the original Indiana Jones as well as Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, particularly the zeppelin sequence. I also saw the Rocketeer in this one, probably as the single most plagiarized source. Atlantis? Come on. WWII? Really? How about some more originality.This territory has been covered exhaustively by so many B-movies from the 80s (King Solomon's Mines, for one) as well as countless video games. After seeing the whole thing, I felt that this wouldn't even make a good video game premise, much less a big budget Hollywood style movie.

Story Structure:

Boy howdy. This thing bogged way down once it hit Africa. The first half of the movie felt like we were skipping along way too fast. No chance to figure out who the people were or why I should give a flip about them. Then we hit Africa and I'm completely lost and confused. None of the story makes sense and it seems like we're just jumping around randomly in some bizarre story. Who are the pigmies and why do I care? They're less interesting than the Ewoks upon whom they're clearly based. I know there's supposed to be some sort of connection to the tribe in the beginning of the movie, but I can't really tell that there is. The whole storyline was herky-jerky and inconsistent. Some parts seem to drag on forever and the rest seems to blow past way too fast. There were times when I was checking the progress bar to see if there was any way they had enough time to complete some sort of story arc because I was sure the end was coming any second. At other times, I was checking to make sure this hadn't gone past the 5 hour mark.

Characters:

I really hated Jack. he was too simplistic, stereotyped, and just plain stupid. I've seen him in so many other, better story lines from other big movies (The Rocketeer, for one) that I'm tired of this. He has neither the intelligence of Indiana Jones, nor the humor and cleverness of a Nathan Drake (of the Uncharted video game series). There was nothing to really like about this guy at all. There really needs to be something done about this lead character to make him likable and interesting. There is no hook at all.

Sara was prissy and whiny and really off-putting. She served mostly to confuse me rather than being something I would be attracted to in reality. She was neither feminine-attractive nor strong female attractive. She was sort of in limbo. Not as bad as Jack, but similarly uninteresting to me. Being the second lead character, she needs as much work as Jack's character does. Give her some semblance of passion or emotion, motives, etc.

Addie was really a completely lost opportunity. Instead of making a likable/interesting character, he ends up being some sort of sidekick/bad stereotype of what white people think black people were like in the 1940s. This combined with the stupid assumptions about what racism and prejudice was at that time just made me nauseated. He ends up being the Jar Jar Binks of this movie when he was apparently intended to be more of a Chewbacca character model, which would also not work well here.

Rheingold, I had to look his name up. I forgot it. He's not interesting, evil, or imposing at all. He comes across as a spoiled rich kid rather than a cerebral arch enemy or even someone capable of rising to his rank and authority. Again we face the stereotype rather than anything even remotely realistic, even within the scope of an action-adventure script. Clearly copied from Indiana Jones' 3's evil Nazi dude, but a pale reflection.

Dialogue:

Bland, predictable, boring. There were no interesting interactions between characters. No one liners to joke about with friends. No insightful commentary. No anything memorable whatsoever. I will have forgotten most of this movie by this weekend.

Emotion:

If the team was going for frustration, confusion, and irritability, I think they succeeded beautifully.



Overall, there are some basic pieces that are salvageable, but there are a lot more details that need to be hashed out. I'd start by changing the setting completely. Kill the Atlantis theme. Possibly consider some other ancient legend, but please find one I've not seen in movies before AND that has some interest to it. Locale is purely a function of subject matter, and Africa is no worse than South America, the Himalayas, or Antarctica. Something original would be nice.

The characters need to be totally revamped. I personally would like to see a lead male character along the lines of Nathan Drake of the Uncharted video game series mixed with Captain Malcolm Reynolds of Firefly fame. The likable scoundrel sort of pioneered by Harrison Ford's Han Solo but with funnier/more clever banter and dialogue and a different past, one that we get a glimpse of. The lead female character needs to be both feminine and yet in some ways a match in strength of character to the lead male role. She need not be too witty in banter, but needs some counterbalance that makes her just as intriguing as the male so that the audience

Addie could be turned into something much more. While I think it's a fine idea to touch on prejudice and racism of the age, please do take a little time and read about the era or talk to people who lived it to get a realistic idea of what a black man in the military might actually experience. Give the man a little sense of pride and inner fortitude that he sorely lacked in this caricature. Make him human and interesting on his own, not because of the circumstances he finds himself in. He should not be the center of attention, and the story should not revolve around the color of his skin or that of the indigenous people, but an interesting side story arc of him succeeding against the artificial odds against him can definitely be created, as opposed to the side show act he plays in this script.

Pacing needs to be smoothed out, and the story arcs need to be handled more effectively. The jumping from parallel arcs to single-mindedness left me feeling schizophrenic.

Oh, and either the name needs to be changed or the script needs to be completely rewritten. Sky Pirates implies a lot of sky and a lot of pirating. Neither happened in this story.

If this were to come to the big screen, it would be a huge flop. Even if a cartoon was made of it and it was released direct to video it wouldn't hold up under the most cursory scrutiny of an 8 year old. You've chosen some good movies to plagiarize, but instead of creating a great adventure, you've created a Frankenstein's Monster of a screenplay that just cannot possibly be brought to life.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Good movie

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
April 04, 2012
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Pretty nice concept

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
April 04, 2012
At first this looked like a cross between Crimson Skies ( xbox video game) and Uncharted ( a Playstation game) but the dialogue and interesting take on the 1940's during WWII make it interesting enough to go see in theaters when it comes out.

Who doesn't like a good WWII movie, now add pirates, treasure, and blimps!! With Hollywood producing remake after remake these days, at least this would be something interesting that didnt come from the 80's or a book.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

I couldn't watch it through... i didn't want to spoil the full movie if it makes it!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
April 03, 2012
my kind of movie
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Entertaining and intriguing

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
1 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
April 03, 2012
Love the concept and the story, appeals to my preference for the Indiana Jones-esque adventure movies. Has potential as an action-adventure blockbuster. However, the character development needs work. "Major Danger" Jack Dansby is a bit too cliche and shallow. The romance between the two lead characters needs to be developed some more, there's no real obvious reason why the girl would be drawn to the guy. His revelation about his father aside, he's still a materialistic flake without any endearing qualities (and really, shouldn't the hero have at least SOMETHING hero-like about him from the get go?) Her sudden affection for him seems to come out of nowhere. Obviously it's meant to be an action-adventure film, so it's not exactly supposed to be a riveting romantic tale, but a bit more depth could be added to make the relationship more believable rather than forced. The line - "I think I'm ready to be kissed again," was especially corny.

I think it's got potential, though.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

good solid movie

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
March 30, 2012
I liked the story. The only thing that bothered me about this movie were the actual voices of the characters. I think the movie makers need to maybe try adding some famous actors/actress voices for the characters - that might greatly improve the soundtrack of the movie.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

A little too boyscout but still watchable

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
March 29, 2012
Love the airship pirate storyline, but don't want the same story that Hollywood has been pumping out for years. No one doubts the hero will win. The immoral guy from the wrong side of the tracks that finds love and becomes a better man is overdone. I didn't take this for a childrens movie, but if it was intended for that I am way off the mark. Would be great for kids.
 

Reviews for