Overall Recommendation:
4.7 stars
(78)
5 Stars:
76.92%
(60)
 
4 Stars:
16.67%
(13)
 
3 Stars:
5.13%
(4)
 
2 Stars:
1.28%
(1)
 
1 Stars:
0%
(0)
 
Premise:
4.7 stars
(70)
 
Story structure:
4.5 stars
(70)
 
Character:
4.8 stars
(70)
 
Dialogue:
4.4 stars
(71)
 
Emotion:
4.5 stars
(70)
 
 
1-10 of 78 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

great job by everyone!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
September 03, 2012
just give em a few million and you'll have a solid franchise for life! amazing job!
 
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Interesting Storyline

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
August 18, 2012
In my opinion, what is the difference between this and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Slayer? I am not trying to rain on your parade because I did enjoy this movie very much. In fact it was better than the Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Slayer film. The only thing that is different between the two is the difference in main characters. You changed Abraham Lincoln, an icon through the Civil War, to a velvet Elvis Presley, who was a key icon in the music world. I'm sorry if I'm being harsh.... I enjoyed the movie otherwise.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Loved it!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
March 29, 2012
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

good overall

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
March 16, 2012
Held my interest and was entertaining.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Pure Awesomeness!! I want more!!!!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
March 07, 2012
I actually like this movie in its current form!!! Yes it could have better sets and some of the acting is not the best but for all of the that the story and the characters pulled me in! Kirk was great!!! I really like the premise and the whole idea!!! Nice work Jeff!
 
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Velvet Elvis is a sleeper Sensation! Pulp Fiction meets Buffy The Vampire Slayer

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
March 02, 2012
Overall, I thought this movie was Amazing! With lesser actors it would have been a dissapointing B flick. But the Dave Chappelle meets Samuel L. Jackson main character and his sidekick really drew me into the movie. They're definitely keepers. The song at the opening credits is a keeper also, as is the blues theme running throughout the movie.

The actress that played the dead girl wasn't horrible by any means, but I think you need someone who can play dingy, but kindhearted and with the capacity for depth in character development, lik Anna Faris or that red-head chick from Super Bad.

The real Elvis backstory could also be developed in a 2 minute montage perhaps showing him trying to run away from a concert one night and hitching a ride ... the oncoming car with its headlights in the night stops to pick him up ... "Son, you look like you got some worry on your mind ... where you headin?" Then it turns out to be the devil ... yada-yada. It's kindof a ripoff emotionally and story-wise and as audience I'm not really invested, nor believin that was elvis.

Overall, again, for a test movie, I thought this movie was fantastic. The gaffing and special effects and the other minor things were the only thing really missing. The guy at gun store was perfect too. Great story, concept, dialogue ... etc.

Good luck Jeff and let's get this sucker made!

P.S.: What's up with the Jew-in-a-bag?
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Velvet Elvis a smooth ride

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
March 01, 2012
Over all I thought the story had promise - I was bit distracted by some of the soft focus and dark scenes, even if it was done intentionally but I understand given the right budget that wouldn't be an issue. The perfromances were okay but many of the supporting roles could have had stronger actors play them and it would have helped the project enormously.

My one comment is I would have liked to see the story or setting be bigger, the villians more powerful- Reminds me of a film called Dylan Dog : Dead of the Night- I would have liked to seen the characters really get in over their heads more and of course a bigger ending is always welcomed.

I think with the a good rewrite to open up the back story and the right actor like Samuel Jackson for Elvis and Seth Green for the side kick it would be a great movie to watch.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Great Movie. Laugh out loud funny. Liked it a lot.

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
February 28, 2012
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Great movie!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
February 26, 2012
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

LOVE IT!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
February 24, 2012
Finally! My two favorite subjects: Elvis and Demons. Oh, I do like velvet a lot. Now if only Amazon can do Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Slayer my life will be complete!
 

Reviews for