Overall Recommendation:
3.2 stars
(19)
5 Stars:
21.05%
(4)
 
4 Stars:
21.05%
(4)
 
3 Stars:
26.32%
(5)
 
2 Stars:
15.79%
(3)
 
1 Stars:
15.79%
(3)
 
Premise:
3.2 stars
(18)
 
Story structure:
3.1 stars
(18)
 
Character:
2.9 stars
(18)
 
Dialogue:
3.0 stars
(18)
 
Emotion:
2.6 stars
(18)
 
 
1-10 of 19 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Trying too hard.

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
2 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
February 08, 2012
The problem I had with this script was that the (many) authors who have now tackled this script still haven't been able to come up with a movie that is "realistic." Meaning, from the moment I started reading this it just felt forced. It felt like people were honestly trying too hard.

The concept is what's funny and amusing here, but as it is currently executed it just doesn't deliver. It appears as if a bunch of comedy writers have just come together to do punch-up on a script that wasn't very good to begin with.

It is a farce when it could be a satire. It is corny where it could be creative. It is silly where it could be somber.

Having the American forefather's call each other names and drink and be slightly-foul mouthed is kind of funny...but, again, only on paper. Once you apply it to a full length script it gets old very, very quickly. In fact, that's the problem with this movie on the whole. It would be a great short film or viral video, but I don't think it has the power right now to be a successful feature film.

As-is, the joke and premise die off around page 20 and are never regained. How many historical references can you make in one script? And how many jokes can you make about them? Apparently, the answer is hundreds of them. Only a handful that are either a.) funny or b.) relevant and relate-able to today's audience. You are just not going to get big laughs by making jokes about Washington being a girl, or anything else like that. You're just going to get crickets...and that's exactly what I felt like I was hearing as I finished the script last night.

The movie/concept needs to be taken back to formula, honestly. It needs to be re-made and re-written as an action/adventure/comedy along the lines of "National Treasure." Right now it reads more like a sequel to "Your Highness."

Many of the references to historical events need to be trimmed down (yes, I guess you could say "dumbed down"), much of the humor needs to be completely removed, and the overall tone and atmosphere needs to be updated and made more 'adult-like.' Again, this almost reads like a stoner comedy for teenagers, except instead of drug references we have historical references. Instead of 20-something characters that college kids can relate to we have 40-50 year old men in pantaloons.

Again, the concept is good...the execution, however, needs much improvement.
 
1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Fair

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
2 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
January 18, 2012
All I can say is fair to this whole thing....
 
12 out of 13 people found the following review helpful:

A paradigm of inanity

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
1 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
January 08, 2012
It was a weird experience to read this screenplay, usually I put down works like this after a couple of pages, as soon as the red-lights signaling an overdose of inane foolishness start blinking. But I read this script to the very end, looking for a key to interpret it. At page 114 I found it in the line "This is a farce. You can’t be serious." I think that's the right way to take this script: a rather dumb farce which is not funny, rather costly to make, and totally pointless. Even considering the madness of producing a film like this with a good casting and first-class production values, who would go watch it? Very few people in the USA, nobody at all abroad. I just read that it's getting more and more difficult to lure people into theaters, and I doubt that films based on scripts like this could do that. It makes "Transformers" seem smart by comparison. The most astounding thing about this screenplay is that it won, and I'm not surprised that now Amazon Studios is trying to make it funnier involving the collaboration of other writers. I would be more surprised if someone comes up with the right idea to make this script work: perhaps by casting anthropomorphic animals instead of real actors, with an orang-utang as Franklin and a billy-goat as Washington. Or maybe lookalikes of real contemporary politicians playing their ancestors' caricatures. I don't want to be completely negative, and so I must point out that the pace is quick enough, the flashbacks timely, and the formatting decent.
 
1 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Franklin - A True Mint

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
January 07, 2012
In truth, I was initially offended for this satirization of America's founding fathers. But, I quickly got over it as I was drawn into this intelligent, humorous script. I couldn't put it down.

This story even made me question my elementary textbook view of early historical figures and how I still see them in this shallow, can-do-no-wrong mindset.

I think if there was ever a time in our culture where this movie would be accepted would be now. True tv shows have increased our thirst for a more balanced view of our country's forefathers. What's wrong with that? It's history. It's humanity. Does more understanding make us better or less American? I say the former.

Moreover, if there was ever a time to get back to our roots, then it is now. This movie teaches us without feeling like we're being taught.

In fact, looking at this script pushed me to wiki Mr. Franklin and find out so many things I never knew about him. What an incredible dude!

I hope this film is made. Just the controversial storm that would surround the making of this cinematic experience would create a social buzz that could never be bought. A risk, well, I'll let the more informed in that area speak to such. Maybe it would be a 'Rocky' road. I can only hope so.

In conclusion, sally forth, Benji, and spark the world once again!

W.C. Liles
 
1 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Franklin invented action movies

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
December 21, 2011
This is not a bad slap-stick comedy piece. I can't say it's the best read, but it was entertaining. Definitely different. I never imagined Franklin to be such a stone-cold killer, but stranger things have happened...I suppose. I can't say I see this concept winning an award or being produced because its subject matter will be too costly to produce given the size of the market niche it's targeting. The only way I see this being overcame will be to add some top A-list actors and I can't imagine any appealing A-list-ers that will take a chance on this one. Overall, I like the structure, the dialogue was not too shabby either. I liked it. Good luck with it.
 
1 out of 7 people found the following review helpful:

fun, funny and crazy action movie

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
No rating
 
Story structure:
No rating
 
Character:
No rating
 
Dialogue:
No rating
 
Emotion:
No rating
 
September 28, 2011
This was a great script and every true to history.

That's right Ben Franklin was a two fisted action hero that saved what would be America from the brits.

The ideal was fun, crazy and very funny. also the action is also pretty good.
 
1 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Ben's Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
August 20, 2011
First off, I thought some of the scene were out loud funny as I was reading it. And coming from me, that means a lot, especially since I'm one bitter, angry and souless dude. I'd love to see the entire cast of Childrens Hospital put this up as an eight episode story arch with Dr. Owen Maestro trapped in an elevator, with a group of sick kids during the Fourth of July weekend, and telling them this story about BF. That would be really cool, but I'm sure it would never ever happen, because those guys on that Adult Swim show are probably total dicks, but funny dicks.

My advice for the script: give Ben a sexy cyborg French maid named "Gi Gi" which was a gift created by Pierre-Simon Laplace, Georges-Louis Le Sage, and Alexander Cummings (designer of the flush toilet).
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Make it more mature

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
August 19, 2011
This is a very good premise that would do well as a tv movie, but it needs to be more mature (I dont think that german hessians were giving each other teddy bears).
 
17 out of 23 people found the following review helpful:

What the.... this is TERRIBLE and offensive.

Overall Recommendation:
1 stars
 
Premise:
1 stars
 
Story structure:
1 stars
 
Character:
1 stars
 
Dialogue:
1 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
August 15, 2011
How did this ever win? Or get read past page 3?

What a total slap in the face to the decent writers on this site.
 
6 out of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Best Screenplay on Amazon Studios!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
June 18, 2011
This, the funniest screenplay on Amazon Studios actually helped another winner!

Jerry Sandu was so emboldened by "Ben Franklin" winning, he entered his amazingly funny "Super Bowl Sex Party" to Amazon Studios and won!!!!

Sandhu said he’d always thought about writing a screenplay. That’s why he joined Amazon Studios last Nov. 16, the day it launched. “I purchased ‘how to’ books from Amazon before, but for various reasons I just never got to it. I think what motivated me was the semifinalist nomination of (and eventual win for) America’s Ben Franklin in The Electrocution String. I thought it was hilarious, and when it got recognized, it encouraged me.”
 

Reviews for