Overall Recommendation:
4.2 stars
(20)
5 Stars:
60.0%
(12)
 
4 Stars:
20.0%
(4)
 
3 Stars:
0%
(0)
 
2 Stars:
15.0%
(3)
 
1 Stars:
5.0%
(1)
 
Premise:
4.5 stars
(15)
 
Story structure:
4.2 stars
(15)
 
Character:
4.2 stars
(15)
 
Dialogue:
4.2 stars
(15)
 
Emotion:
3.9 stars
(15)
 
 
1-10 of 20 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Americas Ben......

Overall Recommendation:
1 stars
 
Premise:
No rating
 
Story structure:
No rating
 
Character:
No rating
 
Dialogue:
No rating
 
Emotion:
No rating
 
November 06, 2013
Needs Excitement, seems slow to me, reminds me of High School.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

five minutes; not funny yet.

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
No rating
 
Story structure:
No rating
 
Character:
No rating
 
Dialogue:
No rating
 
Emotion:
No rating
 
October 10, 2013
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Still a great concept

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
2 stars
 
June 18, 2013
After viewing the table read, I did get a better since of the comedy. I think there are a few issues with comedic timing and the lack of subtlety. Especially in the case of George Washington. What you have in the comedy of Americas Ben Franklin is more of a action filled Benny Hill episode and what I think you were trying to pull off is more Austin Powers.

Let me reiterate that I love the concept. Ben Franklin is one of my favorite historical figures; I applaud the creators of this piece for such an awesome concept. Ben Franklin as a James Bond type totally works. My issue is the comedy within Americas Ben Franklin. It seems to lean more towards slap-stick and British wit. Very Python-esque. I don't think the humor connects with the character. Maybe the story should lean less on the humor and more on the Action Adventure. Lets say, more like a National Treasure. Overall the story is very well written and again I love the concept.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

there is a meaning there somewhere

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
2 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
1 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
June 09, 2013
comedy needs an amount of time to settle in methinks...set the scene first...i wudda thought
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

History rewritten in a good way

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
November 18, 2012
I really liked this script, it is very fresh and fun, an interesting rewrite of history. Ben Franklin the new action movie star, a Revolutionary War James Bond with Betsy Ross the new Bond Girl. Some of the technology leap of time in the script will require a good production design to be consistent with what materials were available during the stories time frame but it could work. The mix of modern euphemisms and slang is funny at times out of place in others, but when it works it works well. The plot reveals were well done and the story moved along at a good pace to a dramatic ending. There is a slight unevenness with the feel of the script's humor, going from romantic comedy to street comedy, sometimes a little too gangster crass but that could be smoothed out with good direction or a little polish. This could defiantly become a franchise if done well and I would hope this project moves forward to production. Well Done!
 
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Don't waste your time

Overall Recommendation:
2 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
1 stars
 
Character:
2 stars
 
Dialogue:
2 stars
 
Emotion:
1 stars
 
July 19, 2011
Epic Rap Battles of History's Ben Franklin is Funnier.
 
2 out of 5 people found the following review helpful:

it might as well be on tv

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
No rating
 
Story structure:
No rating
 
Character:
No rating
 
Dialogue:
No rating
 
Emotion:
No rating
 
June 25, 2011
fun fun fun fun ! me loved this even though i didnt get it :P i want to see it with the production of hollywood and do it right because this is awesome. good job guys!! :D
 
1 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Fun in the Sun

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
No rating
 
Story structure:
No rating
 
Character:
No rating
 
Dialogue:
No rating
 
Emotion:
No rating
 

Dom

June 23, 2011
Yeah this was cool. Especially for a table read. It was basically a fun time and that's usually what counts in showbiz, in my opinion.
 
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:

I Can't Believe I Watched the Whole Thing . .

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
May 23, 2011
But I couldn't stop. Brilliant & hilarious. I'm not sure if mid-America will accept the sacrilegious treatment of George Washington, but this has all the makings of a great cult film. Couple of comments. The fight scenes seemed a bit long, but would probably be faster without the explanatory dialogue. In the opening scene with the Hessians, they seemed more likable than Ben. Could they be made a bit more villainous? I could not hear/understand the explanation of the cherry tree blackmail; that may have just been this particular table read rather than the written dialogue.
 
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

An Amazing Absurdist Piece!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
February 22, 2011
Very rarely does "revisionist" humor like this work, but the characters in this script are so invested in their objectives that this not only makes for a great comedy, but also an awesome action/adventure!
 

Reviews for