Overall Recommendation:
4.3 stars
(19)
5 Stars:
47.37%
(9)
 
4 Stars:
31.58%
(6)
 
3 Stars:
21.05%
(4)
 
2 Stars:
0%
(0)
 
1 Stars:
0%
(0)
 
Premise:
4.1 stars
(17)
 
Story structure:
4.3 stars
(17)
 
Character:
3.9 stars
(17)
 
Dialogue:
3.5 stars
(17)
 
Emotion:
3.9 stars
(17)
 
 
1-10 of 19 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Really good work! I can't wait to see the final production!

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
November 26, 2012
Myth of a Modern Man is a great little "dude" flick. Almost a chick flick, but told exclusively from the perspective of the male protagonist. I applaud the reversal of POV (as these movies are usually somewhat from both perspectives, or told exclusively from the female perspective). I also think the combination of dialog track and storyboards in this test movie are exceptionally clear. The structure is textbook, the stakes are clear, and the dialog is good.

However, I think there are a few beats that are incredibly convenient (like the reversal of the main male supporting character in the second act), moments that drive the story, but are outside of established character parameters. I think there are a good handful of trite moments (beats that work in the storyboards because the test movie feels like a cartoon, so the director opted for cartoony language) that will need serious modification for them to play with "real" actors. One can get away with "cartoony" language in their film if the camp is designed for metaphor. It is MUCH harder to get away with when the material is perfectly "on the nose" as it is here.

That having been said, it's still really good work! I think this will make a great full-budget movie. I look forward to seeing the final product!
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Professionally Crafted

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
July 26, 2012
Myth of a Modern Man storyboard is captivating. The artwork is professional, voice-overs are believable, and music is engaging. I not much into romantic comedies but every now and then I find one that is done well enough to keep me watching. Your storyboard is one of those that I wouldn’t mind seeing made into a feature film. The title is the only thing that I find confusing. What is the myth? Are you saying that the man’s animalistic nature is a myth?

Overall, great job and I hope to see this on the silver screen someday!
 
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

I love the 'magic of life'!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
January 05, 2012
This is probably one of the best test movies I have seen in a while. I really like how the theme of the movie relates to it all in such a big way. I feel that this movie relates to a lot of people's lives now, especially with the economic crisis and all that stuff.

The Script was very well made, and I felt that I was in touch with the characters. I heard from a director, i forget who it was exactly, but he said that "the key to characters is that you make characters the audience loves to love or loves to hate." and I could totally see that there had been a lot of work put into making the characters as real as could be and that work definitely paid off.

I loved how certain aspects of the story sort of came back into the story, such as 'do you believe in magic'.

I found that the repeatedness of peter's start of day was great, the score certainly accented that very well, and how everything wasn't as shallow as some writers make their scripts. as in that everything in the movie had something to do with past, present, or future.

The movie got my attention very well, though it took me a few minutes to really get to know the characters. which is typical of any movie. i had to stop in the middle and take it back up again later, which was to bad, because it meant that i had to spend a day wanting to start watching it.

anyway, good luck adding to the movie, I hope to see this in theaters soon!
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

very very intresting

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
December 17, 2011
extremely intresting great job
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Really awesome!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
November 25, 2011
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Enjoyed it!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
September 17, 2011
I was just going to watch a few minutes as this was my first visit to Amazon Studios, but it grabbed me I watched the whole thing. I think the other reviews are pretty much spot on. Awesome story boards, slightly new twist on a romantic comedy, some of the dialog was trite, and the final ending was slightly abrupt. One original thought I will add is the that the title does not fit with the story line. I caught the tie in, but it wasn't enough to hold as a theme. I look forward to seeing this on the big screen someday. Good luck.
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Definitely has potential, dialogue can use some more work

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
July 19, 2011
 
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

I would definitely watch it

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
July 07, 2011
 
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Not bad, started too early with no definable line of action.

Overall Recommendation:
3 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
3 stars
 
Character:
3 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
July 07, 2011
 
0 out of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Brilliantly tight-knit story with beautiful art. Loved it!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
3 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 

Nic

July 06, 2011
I must say, this film deserves praise for the absolutely spell-binding story (Ha! Did you catch the joke?), and visuals that really captured the feel of the piece. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

The entire basis of the story is one that is simple, flexible, and most importantly, entertaining. A "machine" of a man gets sick of the system, and winds up getting involved in a crazy scenario with women, drinking, and plenty of guru advice from the friendly womanizer. Granted, this plot has been used before, (ex. "Fight Club") but the story maintained a fresh, clean approach to the tale, and essentially that's what storytelling is all about. Kudos on the story, it is really very, very good.

Art in this piece is truly awesome. It flows perfectly. The tempo of the story is really quite masterful, and I simply loved the re-using of the "same-old morning" pictures. Also, the red arrows on the slides are a fantastic touch, they really add a huge amount to the overall flow of the film. While I'm on it, the music was very fitting and added much to the work.

Dialogue is really where this movie falls short unfortunately, some of it is trite and a little out-of-character in places. Jack's character didn't exactly fit his dialogue (in my opinion) in some places, but overall he is still a really great character.

Very awesome, very entertaining, and very worthy of all the praise it has received.
 

Reviews for