Overall Recommendation:
4.7 stars
(10)
5 Stars:
70.0%
(7)
 
4 Stars:
30.0%
(3)
 
3 Stars:
0%
(0)
 
2 Stars:
0%
(0)
 
1 Stars:
0%
(0)
 
Premise:
4.3 stars
(10)
 
Story structure:
4.7 stars
(10)
 
Character:
4.8 stars
(10)
 
Dialogue:
4.7 stars
(10)
 
Emotion:
4.3 stars
(10)
 
 
1-10 of 10 reviews
Sort: Newest | Most helpful
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

From the titleI wasn't sure what kind of story it would be.

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
September 09, 2011
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Fast paced and intense!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
September 05, 2011
A great story- good twist on the plot lines, and the characters went well beyond the two dimensional ones found in most crime dramas. Love to hate Niner; glad he doesn't work in my city!
 
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Bad Cop Kills bad guys!!! I like it.

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
September 05, 2011
Solid thriller to say the least! Good descriptions and scenes with lots of details. Character is Bad to the Bone. Dialogue is to the point. Im not normally interested in bad cop movies but Eric does a good job of drawing you in. The twists and turns will keep you on your toes. Looks like it could be a hit. Great script Eric!
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Worst Christmas Movie EVER!!!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
3 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
September 04, 2011
So what starts out as a sugary sweet Christmas flick quickly turns In Cold Blood. This was the most disturbing opening ever but sets up a interesting, great revenge plot! The shocking murders quickly builds sympathy for our otherwise unsympathetic title character. A great morality tale. Not just another case of good vs. evil. This is bad vs. evil. And may the worst man win! Niner!!! Great work Eric!
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

a page turner

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
September 04, 2011
The idea of setting a mass murder on christmas eve is creepy and original. On one hand, a corrupt police officer and on the other, two men who have killed an entire family in cold blood. We're forced to side with the lesser evil. The bad guys and their crimes are so bad that Niners underhanded dealings and racist mentality fail in comparison. It's an interesting twist to the bad cop genre. The opening scene was so intense, I almost stopped reading, but I'm glad i didn't. This was excellent!
 
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Extremely well written

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
4 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
The writing is very strong. The script has a great pace and moves very efficiently. The dialog is excellent and each character has a distinct voice.

For some reason, if the swearing was cut, I could see this as being ready made for one of the TV cop shows.

The ending neatly ties up the loose ends, but I think as an different ending it would be funnier and perhaps scarier if Niner ends up a school teacher working with children in the end. The way he goes down and by whom (I won't ruin it) seems a little too easy.

Nicely done. I hope you do well.
 
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Strong courtroom drama

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
September 03, 2011
I dont typicaly like cops and courtrooms but found this unusually entertaining.
 
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Best script I've read in a while!

Overall Recommendation:
5 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
5 stars
 
Emotion:
5 stars
 
September 03, 2011
Powerful from start to finish. Great lead character, original and memorable. Script is dark, yet has an offbeat sense of humor. Nothing negative to say. Love to see this one on the screen.
 
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:

A bad cop goes badder...

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
4 stars
 
Story structure:
5 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
3 stars
 
September 02, 2011
When I first started reading Niner I thought I was going to get a typical "rough cop with a heart of gold, not playing by the book but getting results". I was pleasantly proved wrong. Niner is a character who, though likable, goes from bad to worse; a cop who has spent so long staring into the abyss that his own sense of justice has been skewed beyond recognition. I enjoyed reading his descent. Even though the various revelations about Niner's character (very well structured revelations, I should add) uncover him as a monster, his charm still made me hope for his redemption. No typical hollywood ending here, though. Niner will stop at nothing to survive, but he never becomes the black and white cartoon villain we see in most thrillers.

What starts out as a detective thriller quickly becomes something far more gritty and sinister; refreshingly blunt, clever, and extremely well written. I really enjoyed this, and would love to see it make the big screen.
 
4 out of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Very intense Drama

Overall Recommendation:
4 stars
 
Premise:
5 stars
 
Story structure:
4 stars
 
Character:
5 stars
 
Dialogue:
4 stars
 
Emotion:
4 stars
 
September 01, 2011
I liked this cop drama. Kind of a darker training day with court drama. Eric has done an excellent job giving us a very gritty look at the life of police officers and the real choices they have to face everyday.

Premise

Very good. High impact opening scene . Has just the right amount of twists at just the right places. The story is captivating and will keep your interest.


Structure

The structure of the story is classic. But the flow of one scene to another keeps you turning the pages. Eric does a good job of staying focused using traditional three act scenes.


Character

The Main character Niner is unforgettable. The choices he makes and his attitude toward his job makes him stand out among many of the classic cop dramas. The supporting characters are so real you feel like you know them. Eric does a good job of letting us get to know the characters by using their environment as a backdrop.


Stakes

The stakes in this drama are life and death. But with a twist the stakes include street justice which is not often scene in this unique way.


Dialogue

The dialogue is true to life. I was natural and easy to get a feeling of who the characters were deep inside. The dialogue moves the story along which is one of the things I like in a story.


Visual Style

The visual style in this screenplay goes from White Christmas to Training day and you are there every step of the way.

Very good Eric.
 

Reviews for